FIFPRO Announce 55 Player Shortlist for World XI

FIFPro, in association with FIFA, is proud to announce the final 55 players in contention for a spot on the 2015 World XI.


The 55 players listed below have been selected by professional footballers worldwide, with a new record of almost Pictured left are nine of the players from the 2014 World XI. The full team last year was: Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, David Luiz, Sergio Ramos, Thiago Silva, Andrés Iniesta, Toni Kroos, Angel di Maria, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Arjen Robben.


The 55-player shortlist: (home country/club)


Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus)

Iker Casillas (Spain, FC Porto)

David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)

Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF)

Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)



David Alaba (Austria, FC Bayern Munich)

Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Daniel Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona)

Jérôme Boateng (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)

Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid CF)

Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus)

David Luiz (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)

Diego Godín (Uruguay, Atlético Madrid)

Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)

Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia, Chelsea)

Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City)

Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)

Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid CF)

Javier Mascherano (Argentina, FC Barcelona)

Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)

Gerard Piqué (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF)

Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)

John Terry (England, Chelsea)

Raphaël Varane (France, Real Madrid CF)



Thiago Alcantara (Spain, FC Bayern Munich)

Xabi Alonso (Spain, FC Bayern Munich)

Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea FC)

Andrés Iniesta (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid CF)

Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid CF)

Andrea Pirlo (Italy, New York City FC)

Paul Pogba (France, Juventus)

Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona)

James Rodríguez (Colombia, Real Madrid CF)

David Silva (Spain, Manchester City)

Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast, Manchester City FC)

Marco Verratti (Italy, Paris Saint-Germain)

Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Bayern Munich)



Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City FC)

Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid CF)

Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid CF)

Douglas Costa (Brazil, FC Bayern Munich)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain FC)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)

Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)

Neymar Jr. (Brazil, FC Barcelona)

Arjen Robben (The Netherlands, FC Bayern Munich)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)

Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United FC)

Alexis Sánchez (Chile, Arsenal)

Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)

Carlos Tevez (Argentina, Boca Juniors)


(Please note: This list is the result of votes FIFPro receives from nearly 25,000 professional footballers worldwide. This is not a pre-selected shortlist.)


The FIFA FIFPro World XI will be announced on January 11, 2016, at the Ballon D’Or ceremony in Zurich.



Leave a Reply